3 years.

Exactly 3 years ago today, I got on a plane from the United Kingdom to return to the United States for good. 

Even after 3 years, my feelings are mixed.

On one hand, I think of the missed opportunities. I likely would’ve obtained dual citizenship – a top goal of mine before moving there – and my United Kingdom driver’s license (I got the provisional, which lasts 10 years). I would’ve had more earnings potential, working wherever I pleased as someone with years of experience. I think of all the countries I didn’t get to visit while there, and how many I could’ve visited if I was still there now. I think of the slowly growing group of acquaintances & friends I was making, which is difficult enough as an introvert, and the other connections I could’ve made. 

I think of my disrupted routine. My disrupted plans. My disrupted LIFE. Lost wages. Shady job. Shady authority. Shady bosses. Shady colleagues. No help whatsoever from the local authority for which I worked. Reporting to the Home Office like a f***ing criminal, and the employees there wondering what the hell I was doing there, feeling bad for me, because it was obvious that this wasn’t something purposely done. The absolute hell I had to navigate, both over there and over here (but especially over there). Shady relatives. Shady friends. And I become enraged all over again.

Then on the other hand, I look at life for the past 3 years, and I’m glad that I’m home. (Look at “Brexit”, as an example.)

I’ve not been back yet, but I’ll be back soon enough. I have a wedding to attend there. I also still have unfinished business to handle, and some involved will NOT be happy when I’m done. But at least the unfinished business will finally be finished for good. 

Will I ever live abroad again? I don’t know. My inclination is “HELL no.” But who knows. I can say 1 thing though – I’ll never stop exploring the world.

Submitted with mixed feelings,

Spinster.

3 thoughts on “3 years.

  1. This is good

    On Saturday, October 22, 2016, Spinster’s Compass wrote:

    > Spinster posted: “Exactly 3 years ago today, I got on a plane from the > United Kingdom to return to the United States for good. Even after 3 > years, my feelings are mixed. On one hand, I think of the missed > opportunities. I likely would’ve obtained dual citizenship -” >

    Like

  2. I’ve never lived outside the US so I can’t imagine what it must be like to live in another country and suddenly have your whole life uprooted not by choice and be forced to return home. I imagine it’s the same feeling for many folks who came to the US and have lived here for years, raised families and suddenly feel this is no longer the country they’ve come to call home. Especially now with Trump in office.

    Liked by 1 person

Go ahead, say something.

