Moved from the United States to the United Kingdom… and back to the United States. Currently in long-term limbo. My good, bad & ugly experiences as a former expatriate and (possibly) permanent repatriate (who'll continue traveling no matter what).

On the road again.

It has been a while since I’ve taken a proper trip anywhere. Don’t get me wrong… going home is always great, but it isn’t a vacation. The last time I went anywhere besides home was a little over a year ago, when I went up north to the Lake District for a short weekend. (I still need to write about that trip. *hanging head in shame*) Oh yeah, there was also that day trip to Bristol that didn’t turn out quite the right way.

Despite my current financial challenges, I knew that it was well past time for me to go somewhere. So just like with Portugal, I paid for this trip little by little, and I’m going with the same travel Meetup group. (For now, it’s easier that way because the group founder made the arrangements – flights, accommodation, side trips [included or optional], etc. – and due to being so busy, I didn’t feel like doing tons of research for deals like I normally do.) This is a trip I would’ve taken last year but unfortunately, finances held me back worse than they do now. I’m glad that I got a 2nd chance.

So by the time you read this, I’ll be heading to Dubrovnik, Croatia (Wikipedia link) for a few days, with a side (day) trip to Montenegro. Since I don’t have the best track record with writing up my trips (*hanging head in shame again*), I’m considering blogging about this trip with photos – a few words about each photo, while hopefully the photos will speak for themselves. Photo-blogging isn’t necessarily easy, but it’s easier, if you understand what I mean.

I’ll see you on the other side.

Take off.

Take off.

4 responses

  1. You’ll love it! My partner’s parents went last year to both places and their pictures were stunning. Looking forward to those pictures.


    June 28, 2013 at 20:28

  2. Hope you have a wonderful trip! Can’t wait for the posts…(hanging head in shame as I’m so slow keeping up with reading this summer – at least you have an excuse!)


    June 28, 2013 at 23:44

  3. Brilliant. Go Spinster. Some fascinating history there! Hope you have fun. I wonder how many Americans have been to Montenegro….. well in fact, i wonder how many people have total. Its so out of the way! I went there once with a dog called ‘Spud’ it was brilliant. Great topic for conversation when you get back and come for dinner!


    June 30, 2013 at 00:19

  4. Have a wonderful trip! You deserve the break. ♥


    June 30, 2013 at 16:22

Go ahead, say something.

