Hard knock life.

I returned to the United States on 10.22.2013. It took a week for me to get over jet-lag – it usually hits me pretty hard – and I’ve continued looking for work but to no avail. No one in the U.S. has contacted me for employment opportunities but oddly enough, agencies in England keep contacting me a couple of times per week. So I’m basically in limbo – couch-surfing, unemployed, a waiting game, a burden to society. I started a crowd-funding page to get a new visa, but I won’t post it here yet.

Honestly, I’m so disgusted with that country and what they’ve done to me, I’m not sure that I want to return. I won’t go into full detail right now, but suffice it to say that I didn’t leave because I wanted to. At the same time, I haven’t been treated that great here, either. Blood is not thicker than water. Friends, while they’ve treated me much better than blood and definitely mean well, can only help but so much.

I’ll post updates from time to time; I won’t completely abandon this blog (yet?). I’m a cautionary tale – not everything that glitters in another country is gold. I may stay here for good. I apologize to those of you who followed me along this expatriate journey, because the journey may end here.

14 comments on “Hard knock life.

  1. Couches are sometimes good resting places. How dreadful. Write that cautionary tale book NOW! It would be wonderful – and sellable
    (lots of jobs here – mild weather…you can always travel somewhere during August or hide inside)

  2. Glad that you are getting over the jet lag, even if slowly. I say try to come back as you should be here but obviously you will decide what is best. If you make it back we have to meet for a tea!

  3. Pingback: Limbo. | Spinster's Compass

  4. Pingback: Staying put. | Spinster's Compass

  5. Pingback: Finally. | Spinster's Compass

  6. Pingback: Some things change… | Spinster's Compass

Go ahead, say something.

