So close, yet so far.

Highlighting (again) one of the negative aspects of living abroad – being away from loved ones when bad situations happen. I’ve talked about this a few times on here.

On April 15, 2013, at least 2 homemade bombs ripped through the finish line at the Boston Marathon in Boston, Massachussetts. So far, there are 3 dead – the youngest being 8 years old – and over 175 injured, some seriously/critically. I have 3 online friends who live there and, as happens online sometimes when friendships develop positively, their whereabouts & safety worried me. (Thank goodness, they’re alright.) I was off sick that day with a massive headache, so checking the news online & worrying about those friends worsened my headache. It also brought temporary flashbacks of 09.11.2001.

I was hundreds of miles away when the World Trade Center (WTC) buildings went down. I couldn’t reach my family for hours, including my mother, who worked 3 blocks away from the WTC. I later found out that my father was there too, coming out of New Jersey PATH train station, which was/is right under the WTC. I couldn’t reach my friends either. The days & weeks ahead were emotionally hard, partly because of the distance.

The only difference between then & now is that I’m thousands of miles (and a few time zones) away this time. If I was home, at least it’s easier to contact & see people. I can physically see that they’re safe & sound, and speak to them in real-time. I can’t always do that here. And that, for me, is the top negative aspect of living abroad. (I still wouldn’t change it for anything, though, no matter how hard it is.)

I don’t want to make this post about me. I just wanted to present an example of one of the negative aspects of living abroad. As I’ve said many times, living abroad isn’t all “partying & bullshit” (respect to B.I.G.). If you didn’t know, now you know.
——–
As an expatriate, is this hard for you too? Or are there other aspects of living abroad that you think are more difficult than this? Do you know anyone who lives in Boston? Are they alright? Are you following the updates, or are you staying away from most news, like I am? What are your thoughts about everything that happened during & since this incident?

Links:

2013 Boston Marathon timeline http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/04/15/boston-marathon-timeline-_n_3087588.html?

Some media don’t know what they’re doing http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/04/17/boston-bombings-investiga_n_3104608.html

Vigils for victims who died http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/04/17/boston-marathon-bombings-vigils_n_3102257.html

D’NALI – prayers for Boston http://dnali.wordpress.com/2013/04/15/prayers/

Philosopher Mouse Of The Hedge – Two of a kind http://philosophermouseofthehedge.wordpress.com/2013/04/16/two-of-a-kind/

IMG_1564

6 thoughts on “So close, yet so far.

  1. Thanks for including that post. I had begun writing when I saw the first explosion. What can you say to such madness, hatred, and anyone willing to harm totally innocent people?
    It was a rough week – again.
    On 911 we had a child in another city getting on a plane that was headed to NYC – she finally called saying the airports were blocked and she couldn’t get in – asked us what was going on. She was sobbing that she was missing an important interview. Then she found out what happened
    Text messaging to touch base is now normal.
    Oddly the UK media is giving better factual information / less emotional/political spin – so I am reading those. (something I started doing awhile back to get more rounded views of many events)
    There will always be those who will harm others. Impossible to understand. One foot in front of the other.

  2. Glad that your friends are ok. I remember 911 clearly, my boyfriend at the time lived there and I have a lot of family in NYC as well. It was an emotional rollercoaster until I got word that everyone was ok. Canada has always been fairly decent with new coverage abroad so as I follow updates in UK media I also read stuff from home.

    I think in general being away from home when either something tragic, or amazing happens in your loved ones lives is difficult. I became an aunt in February and at the moment I’m not sure when I’ll be able to make it home to see my niece as flights are horribly expensive at the moment. Oh well, ou take the good you take the bad…ok you got me started with lines from songs. I loved the facts of life.

    • Note to self: follow Canadian media too.

      I see that you understand. Bittersweet, it is. Congratulations on becoming an aunt. :-) Thanks for stopping by.

Go ahead, say something.

