Re-blog: Cleaning Out The Clutter In Our Homes And In Our Minds.

Spinster:

I’m agnostic, but can definitely identify with the overall theme. I have an injury which has kept me from doing lots of things (including extensive blogging – about 20 drafts still waiting for me) and as a result, my house isn’t in the best shape. Well, last night I finally folded all the clean laundry that’d been sitting on one of my couches for months, and I felt accomplished. Now I just have to put them away, which will be easy, and iron a few items.

It’s also very important to declutter one’s heart & mind; carrying around so much emotional & mental clutter (outside of genuine mental health challenges) is harmful to one’s overall health. As an expatriate, this can mean the difference between some resilience by adjusting to one’s new country and returning to one’s home country. Just take a look at the tags on this post to see what I mean, then read the original post.

Originally posted on Simply danLrene:

I have always read that when your surroundings are cluttered, it makes it harder to relax and thus makes your pain worse. This had a lot to do with son and I getting rid of so much stuff and going for simplicity in our home. When something does not have a place and I do not mean on top of the pile in the corner, but an actual place for it, then it is time to get rid of something. We make a policy if we find something at a yard sale or in a store, then we will get rid of something to get it.  It truly does make it easier to have serenity in your life when your home is not cluttered. Guess that is why we do the spring cleaning each year…..to clean out the clutter.

What about the clutter in our minds?  Have you ever thought…

View original 922 more words

2 thoughts on “Re-blog: Cleaning Out The Clutter In Our Homes And In Our Minds.”

  1. I read the “Dream’s” blog, too. That was a thoughtful post.
    The idea of simplifying environment and brain clutter is seeming more and more important – maybe because life has gotten so tangled, complex, and so unproductively loud.
    Enjoy the read.

    1. “The idea of simplifying environment and brain clutter is seeming more and more important – maybe because life has gotten so tangled, complex, and so unproductively loud.”

      I agree with you 100%. As always, thanks for stopping by.

Go ahead, say something.

