Day (171) – A Gentleman

Spinster:

I’ve discussed something along these lines in my post 10 Things I Hate About You because one of my pet peeves about this country (or, at least, where I reside in this country) is the rudeness of the people. What I didn’t add to that post (but should have as a bonus) is the lack of chivalry. Most people think of Britons as proper, polite, & posh, but that hasn’t always been my experience. I can’t count the amount of times that I’ve offered my seat to an elderly person on public transportation while no man blinked an eye, or the times that I’ve helped an elderly person carry something while no man blinked an eye, or the times that a pregnant woman needed help or a seat and no man blinked an eye. I’ve seen women help way more often than men.

But maybe this blogger is on to something. Maybe “society making people accountable for their actions is dead.” What do you think? Is chivalry dead in your part of the world? If so, on what do you blame its death? If chivalry isn’t dead in your part of the world, where the hell do you live so that I can move there? :-|

Originally posted on The Better Man Project:

A Gentleman

A gentleman never talks down to women,

A gentleman never talks much about himself, 

He always holds the door, 

And looks to show respect just a bit more, 

 

A gentleman rarely swears, 

And never is involved in affairs, 

He stands up for those he loves, 

And goes to battle for friends with iron gloves,

 

A gentleman is always clean,

A gentleman is never mean,

He always holds his temper,

And significantly respects his elder,

 

A gentleman always looks to improve, 

Upon the life he so chooses, 

He will not interrupt you when your speaking,

And always listen to you and be thinking, 

 

Always help her put on her coat, 

And give her your arm,

Stand up when she enters the room, 

And tell her often…she’s more beautiful than the moon, 

Chivalry is dead? I think society making people accountable for their actions is dead…

View original 187 more words

10 thoughts on “Day (171) – A Gentleman”

  1. I don’t know if chivelry is dead , however good manners and common curtesy seem to be along dead ritual that people no longer pay attention.

    It happens all over and in the UK it’s one of my biggest pet peeves.

    1. Seems to be this way in different countries (maybe a Western Hemisphere phenomenon?), but it (along with good manners & common courtesy) seems to be “more” dead in the United Kingdom than back in the States.

        1. Yes, it definitely depends on where in the States. My hometown gets a bad rap & I disagree with it, especially since moving here. I think that it’s worse here; just my opinion but mine nonetheless.

          1. Agreed it is your opinion as is mine, that’s why I celebrate the diversities of different countries, hence in my travels I’ve learned what is considered good manners in one can cause offense in another.

            Nonetheless I personally abhor bad manners, but I don’t think one culture is more guilty than another.

Go ahead, say something.

